Historic Cherry Hill, the ancestral home of Van Rensselaers and Rankins, has been closed to the public for several months while it undergoes extensive restoration.
Now, the public is invited to take part in a Behind-the-Scenes Restoration Tour on Thursday, April 21, 2011 from noon – 2:00 p.m. highlighting the exciting plans and progress of the ongoing structural work on this building, erected in 1787.
Keeping Place, Keeping Pace will begin at noon with a hot and cold buffet and lecture at the University Club, 141 Washington Avenue at Dove Street. Participants will depart the Club at 1:00 p.m. for small-group behind-the-scenes tours at Historic Cherry Hill, 523 ½ South Pearl Street in Albany.
The University Club of Albany Foundation, Inc. is presenting this event in conjunction with Historic Cherry Hill, and one need not be a member of the University Club to attend.
Liselle LaFrance, the house museum’s Director, will discuss the unique perspective that Cherry Hill offers on the city of Albany, the region, and a changing society as it was continuously occupied by five generations of one family for 176 years. Opened to the public in 1964, the museum boasts a collection of some 20,000 objects, 30,000 manuscripts, 7,500 textiles, 5,000 books and 3,000 photographs.
The cost for the luncheon and lecture is $30 and includes admission to Historic Cherry Hill. Reservations are required and may be made by calling the University Club at 518-463-1151.
A portion of the proceeds from this event benefit the University Club Foundation, formed to recognize and maintain the unique historic and architectural significance of the University Club building and property, its historic neighborhood and the city of Albany, where it has been located since its inception in 1901.
Support for educational programming presented by the University Club of Albany Foundation, Inc. is provided by AT&T.